Guest Interview with Rosemary Smith

 

Good morning and happy Monday to you all.

I’m always interested in getting to know other authors. The first time I went to an author day, I sat in awe. I looked around the room and felt extremely star struck that there were ladies in the same room whose books I had read.

I’ve therefore decided to do a number of author interviews. I’m also going to read a book from each of these lovely ladies and do a short book review for each one of them, which means I’ll be reading all summer… yeah..!!

 

Today I have the lovely Rosemary Smith with me… Here’s what she had to say…!!

rosemary smith

First… a few words from Rosemary….

I am 68years of age, and didn’t start writing until 2002, after I had a brain tumour removed. My neuro surgeon advised me to keep my brain active, but I don’t think writing books wax quite what he had in mind!

To date I have written 7 novellas, which have been published by D C Thomson, and in large print by Ulverscroft. Endeavour Press Ltd have taken all 7 titles, of which 2 have been put on kindle recently. I write Victorian Romantic Suspense as I feel very drawn to that period of time. I live in a lovely village in Devon with my husband, and dog Alfie. Sad!y my eldest daughter Paula died 18 months ago. But I have 1 other daughter, a stepdaughter, 8 grandchildren, and 2 great grandsons. I have just finished my first full length novel A String Of Pearls, which is a to e slip story, set in the 18th and 19th Centuries. I am without doubt an incurable romantic, and love reading …….

Good morning Rosemary and thank you for coming…. pour the tea… biscuits are on the table.

Question: What is your favourite memory of writing?

My favourite memory of writing, is when writing The Bluebell Wood. The research was special, as I saw a wedding dress and Honiton lace veil, silk slippers and orange blossom headdress at the Exeter Museum. I shall never forget it!

Question: From where do you draw your inspiration?

My inspiration is drawn from many things. Old houses, dresses of the late 19th Century, the sea, romantic verse, Churches, graveyards, chance remarks and conversations about the past. I especially love to write by the sea, and love the pounding of the waves on the shore.

Question: Which of your characters would be your favourite?

Its difficult to choose a character which I’ve liked more than any other. But as you ask! I think it has to be Abraham Tremaine in A Strangers Kiss. Although not a love interest, I fell in love with him myself! He is the Father of the Tremaine children. He is reliable, honest and handsome. Yes! I would have to say it is Abraham…

Question: Describe your own perfect hero.

My own perfect hero would need to have an understanding of any plight I may find myself in.
He would need to be daring, fight for my honour, and love me for who I am. Have a gorgeous smile, strong hands, and a sense of humour!

rosemary and her dog

“He’d probably have to be a dog lover too….!!”

Question: Have you ever used parts of your own life within your novels?

I’ve never used part of my life in my stories. But my daughter is always telling me I should write my life story!!

Question: At what time of year do you prefer to write?

I like to write any time of year, when the inspiration takes me

Question: Just for fun… Which is best… Biscuits or chocolate??

Definitely chocolate..!!

“Great… more biscuits for me”

Rosemary’s latest book A Strangers Kiss is available now on Kindle

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Strangers-Kiss-Rosemary-Smith-ebook/dp/B00KR9KTLE/ref=sr_1_3?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1402308317&sr=1-3&keywords=a+strangers+kiss

A Strangers Kiss is set in 1849 in Cornwall.
When her friend Amelia sends Sara a pleading letter to go to her aid, Sara goes to Ravensmount, accompanied by Tilly her maid. The imposing house on the cliffs in Cornwall is inhabited by the Tremaine family. Sara had thought her friend had married Tobias Tremaine, but learns she hasn’t married anyone, and is in fact missing.
Can Sara solve the mystery of Amelia’s disappearance, and also what secret her friends music box holds. And will she fall in love after a strangers kiss?!…….

in-my-opinion

Novella: Word count 33,000

I really enjoyed this book. The story is compelling, fast moving and I particularly liked the way that Rosemary created the characters. While some writers tell the story from various points of view, Rosemary is content to tell it in the first person and actually immerses the reader effortlessly into the ‘actual thoughts’ of the main character Sara.

Set in the 1800’s, the story flowed with ease and the characters jumped out from the page with numerous twists to the story.  I loved Sara, Tobias, and Michael. Violet was very interesting, being an adult with special needs I felt it very brave of Rosemary to do. I also felt that she did it sympathetically and with ease.

And then there was Abraham… well, what can I say about Abraham. He is charismatic, compelling and strong. A true leader amongst his family and I can quite easily see why Rosemary would be drawn toward him as her favourite character.

All in all, I would give this book

five stars

 

It gave me a lovely sunday afternoon of reading and ‘yes’ I’d definitely recommend it.

and finally 

Question: What are you working on now?

I’ve just finished editing A String of Pearls and haven’t yet started anything else.

 

 

whos-next-crop

Next week, I’ll be interviewing the amazing Choc Lit author Jane Lovering...

 

off to read her latest book ‘Falling Apart’ x

One thought on “Guest Interview with Rosemary Smith

  1. Thank you for the lovely interview Lynda. And for enjoying my novella A Strangers Kiss.
    I look forward to reading what Jane Lovering has to say…

    Like

Leave a Reply

