Interview with the gorgeous Suzan Collins

Last weekend was the Romantic Novelist Association 2014 Conference at the Harper Adams University in Telford.

harper adams university

I got to spend the weekend with around 250 like-minded authors, met many old friends and made lots of new ones. I heard aspiring talks, motivational techniques and most of all I got to speak to 3 amazing publishers. Two of which have asked to see the full manuscript of Broken Jigsaw…. I feel so very happy, especially as one of the publishers would be my number one choice. If I had to choose anyone to publish my book… it would be them. More revealed if they choose me to be one of their authors…. fingers crossed xxxx

Anyhow…. back to work this week and today I have the gorgeous Suzan Collins with me. We have champagne (like I didn’t drink enough at the weekend), strawberries and cream scones…!!

champagne-and-strawberriesscone

So… now we’re sitting comfortably, I’d like to introduce Suzan and ask her to tell you a little about herself….

suzan

Hi, I’m Suzan. I really enjoy writing and write both fiction and non-fiction. I’ve written romance and I’ve also written a variety of non-fiction books for staff who work in social care. Along with being an author, I am also a consultant and trainer in health, social care and management.

Ok, Can I ask, what is your favourite memory of writing?

 Oooh, there are so very many!

Really… If there are so many, where or what do you draw your inspiration from?

Sometimes what I see will inspire me to write, for example, if I’m walking along the beach and the sun is shining I feel warm and may write about romance. If the sky is grey and it is windy I may write something chilling.
Other times I write to share information. I have written a selection of non-fiction books on: Safeguarding, Health and Safety, Effective Communication etc. I’ve recently written a Supervision Pack for staff working in the health and social care sector and this is with the publisher. If staff receives 1-1 regular supervision sessions where training needs are identified and concerns are shared then abuse of vulnerable people will be a thing of the past.

Wow, that sounds interesting. If you had to choose from any of your novels, which was your favourite character and which of your books was this from?

Mmmnnn… In my novel, On The Rails, Luca, with his smouldering Italian good looks, was my favourite character. Totally fictitious but I missed him when I finished writing the book. I am writing as sequel, Back On The Rails, and some of my readers have asked if Luca will be in this novel. Can’t say, sssh!

I didn’t have any favourite characters in ‘Beyond My Control: Why the Health and Social Care System Need Not Have Failed My Mother’ as this is a true account.

I’ve just finished writing a short book called Chatty Cat: First six months. A story about a rescue cat’s first six months with me. I wrote it to, not only tell people about Chatty, but also to help raise money for local cat rescue centres. I’m delighted to say, it was published on 3rd July 2014 and is now available on Amazon.co.uk

My favourite character in this is obviously Chatty.

chatty train

chatty book cover

Of course it would be… ha ha..!!  

Because we love romance, could you describe for me in two paragraphs your own perfect hero?

Imagine, George Clooney, that..!

HOLLYWOOD FILM FESTIVAL GEORGE CLOONEY

Oh yes, I can imagine George… who wouldn’t?

Would you ever, or have you ever used parts of your own life within your novels?

Yes, many of the train journeys in On The Rails were journeys I had done.

on the rails

When is your favourite time of the year to write?

I don’t have a particular time of the year to write, I write when I want to.

Thank you so much for coming… really enjoyed the scones and we’ll finish the champagne in the conservatory. Is there anything else you’d like to tell everyone while you are here?

Yes, can I plug my cause please?

Of course you can.

Thank you.

Improve standard of residential, domiciliary & hospital care of older vulnerable people. Pls sign & share http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/66065

chatty

Suzan Collins new book Chatty Cat: The first six months looks at: One woman. One cat. Two very different ways of thinking. Meet Chatty Cat and her human [hooman] as they get to know one another. Chatty Cat is a smart but scared cat who has been adopted and is getting used to her new home. Her hooman thinks she knows exactly what Chatty Cat is thinking and what she needs. Chatty Cat however has other ideas and with a mind of her own, her hooman begins to wonder who is actually in charge!

in-my-opinion

I love this book. I love all animals and to read Chatty Cat’s thoughts, loves and fears was very cleverly written.

I give it….

five stars

Look forward to seeing the next book in this series.!!

Leave a Reply

